Còisir Ghàidhlig Loch Abar - Lochaber Gaelic Choir

Lochaber Gaelic choir, established in 2014 is a community Gaelic choir proudly based in Fort William, Lochaber. We are a vibrant community of singers who share a deep love for Gaelic choral music.

Firstly conducted by Mòd Gold Medallist Rachel Walker, our choir made its debut at the Oban National Mòd in 2015, clinching the prestigious Margrat Duncan Memorial Trophy. The following years saw us triumphantly retaining the trophy in 2016 in Stornoway and again on our home turf in Lochaber in 2017. In 2018, we embarked on a new journey, venturing into the esteemed Lovat & Tullibardine competition at the Mòd in Dunoon, achieving a commendable 4th place.

Although we have taken a hiatus from competition since then, we are thrilled to announce our recent reformation at the end of 2023. Now, under the fresh musical direction of the esteemed Mary Ann Kennedy - renowned singer, musician, broadcaster (and more!) - we are delighted to welcome such a talent and wealth of knowledge to our choir as we eagerly prepare to step onto the stage once more.


  • Our choir convenes monthly for day-long workshops, typically scheduled on Saturdays from 10 am to 3 pm at the Duncansburgh MacIntosh Church (Old Hall). In addition to these in-person sessions, we maintain continuity and engagement through follow-up sessions conducted via Zoom. Moreover, learning materials are conveniently accessible online for members to further enhance their practice and participation outside of workshop hours. We strive to ensure that members can actively participate and stay connected, regardless of location or scheduling constraints.

Other Information

  • Our Gaelic reader is Carolyn Groat, Faculty Head of Modern Languages and Gàidhlig at Lochaber High School.


  • Our choir committee, comprising of 10 to 12 individuals annually, plays a vital role in guiding our activities and ensuring smooth operation. The current office bearers are:
    Chairperson: Carolyn Groat
    Secretary: Margaret MacMaster
    Treasurer: Linda Delaney